My laptop is on the fritz. I was washing the dishes last night and silly me, I depended on a 9 year old in the other room to keep an eye on the little ones. She had her nose buried in the portable dvd player, watching a movie she’s seen 100 times, and she was letting her little brother sit on the laptop and bang on it. When I opened it up, my first thought was “Wow, that’s a cool screensaver…. Oh shit.” It looks like Picasso learned graphic arts.

It will work if I plug it into an external monitor but it’s a hassle to unplug the monitor from the desktop. I’ve got a few options open to me so it’s not a total wash but for now, I backed up the photos and I’m leaving it alone. My, oh my, do I ever hate the keyboard on this desktop though so if you don’t see many updates for a while, that’s why. Then again, I’ll probably do the hooking up of the laptop after the kids go to bed so they can’t pull at it and maybe I’ll update then. That is, if I can look at the monitor for the desktop and remember that the mouse isn’t going to work for it.

Since I don’t have the laptop at the end of the couch anymore, I logged on to check my email on my phone and I saw that my school had determined two grades on English assignments. I signed into the desktop to check. I got a 90 and a 95. Neither grade is bad, but I’m still annoyed. One of the questions was something along the lines of “Name 5 things that proofreaders check for.” In my list, I named indentation. I got points off because I didn’t call it paragraph indentation. What the hell else would I be indenting?

A couple of the earlier grades were in the 70’s so all in all, I pulled an 88 percent for the course. That’s acceptable, I guess. I just think they were too strict with the grading. Whatever. As long as I get the diploma so I can go on to work in lunchlady land at the kids’ school once Perrin gets into preschool and get a college degree, I don’t care.

I’m waiting for a shipment of science books now. I checked earlier and it said it was being prepared. Hopefully it hurries up. I need something to do now that the internet is inconvenient.

In the meantime, maybe I can finish that quilt I started in April!

 

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. mrsvzambrana
    July 29, 2011 at 10:41 pm

    Oh, I hate nitpicky people!
    What school/site are you doing your classes through? I missed the name somehow.

    • July 29, 2011 at 10:50 pm

      I go through Penn-Foster. It’s expensive but I like that I can take my time at it and I get a diploma at the end of it all.

  2. mrsvzambrana
    July 29, 2011 at 10:42 pm

    We are also working furiously to make sure the laptop will work properly for you before sending it. The last thing I want is you out $30 for something that won’t cooperate!

    • July 29, 2011 at 10:51 pm

      There’s no rush. As long as it works, I’m willing to wait and use the desktop for a while longer.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

